Tag Archives

One Article

Surfing News

The Remaining 12 Summer Olympic Qualifiers To Be Crowned in El Salvador

Posted by Sue Steward on
The Remaining 12 Summer Olympic Qualifiers To Be Crowned in El Salvador

The 2020 Summer Olympics, and surfing’s debut in the Games, will kick off in July and August in Tokyo, Japan. But before that, the remaining 12 surfers to qualify need to be crowned – and in an announcement today, we now know where that will take place.

El Salvador will host the 2020 ISA World Surfing Games, where seven women and five men will qualify for the 2020 Games. The event will be held May 9-17th at El Sunzal and La Bocana, a righhander and lefthander respectively. The 12 qualifiers from the ISA World Surfing Games (five men, seven women) will join the other Olympic surfing contenders via the 2019 WSGs, the 2019 CT, and the 2019 Pan American Games – rounding out the grand total of Olympic surfers to 20 men and 20 women. (Note: since two Japanese surfers have already qualified — Kanoa Igarashi via the CT, and Shino Matsuda at the 2019 WSGs — the two slots originally reserved for the host country will be allocated to the 2020 WSGs.)

About the upcoming event, ISA President Fernando Aguerre said that they were very pleased to continue their strong relationship with President Nayib Bukele, Minister Morena Valdez, as well as the government of El Salvador in order to bring another ISA World Championship to this beautiful country. The ISA World Surfing Games would bring an unprecedentedly global attention to El Salvador and the unlimited world-class resource that was its year-round waves.

He also added that Olympic dreams would be fulfilled, creating a highly anticipated level of world-class surfing, camaraderie, and excitement. The universality of the sport would be well displayed with surfers from all continents gathering in peace to celebrate the sport’s Olympic spirit

As a reminder, the surfers already provisionally qualified for the Olympics will be required to surf in the 2020 World Surfing Games. That means the likes of John John Florence, Gabriel Medina, Kolohe Andino, Italo Ferreira, and others will be headed to El Salvador in between Margaret River and G-land.